Range use and zoning

This forum section is primarily to allow individuals to post questions that they have concerning topics on which TFA members may have expertise or experience.

Range use and zoning

Postby johnwaters » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:05 pm

I am an attorney practicing in Knoxville, Tennessee. I am interested in shooting sports, and regularly compete in IPSC, IDPA, 3-Gun, etc.

I am working with a property owner in Tennessee. A shooting range has been on the property for over twenty (20) years. Benches, permanent target berms and other related equipment have been in place for several years. This is private property, with a locking gate. Several friends and neighbors have keys and have used the range along with the property owner and his family.

The property is zoned A-1 Agricultural/Forestry. In the local zoning ordinance, there is a very short list of specifically allowed uses in this zone. The ordinance states that no other uses are allowed. No recreational uses are specifically allowed, but there are, of course, many tennis courts, swimming pools and other recreational facilities in the Zone, including other other private shooting ranges.

The local Planning Commission has sent the property owner a “Cease and Desist Order” demanding that all shooting stop, because it is allegedly in violation of the zoning ordinance. Apparently, the official position is that the property owner must come before the Board of Zoning Appeals (“BZA”) to get a variance or waiver, at which point specific restrictions would likely be imposed on his use. Of course, the variance might not be granted at all. It is my understanding that the Planning Commission and other officials do not desire or intend to restrict or regulate any other private shooting ranges in the area, and that they are reacting to complaints about this range.